THE STORY

HISTORY

PEG was established in 1985. It has developed into an informal friendly extended family that comes together regularly to exchange ideas and information. PEG 2001 will be the tenth international conference.

PEG is a loose association of those interested in the relationship between intelligent computer and communications technology and teaching and learning. For over a decade the PEG international conferences have explored ideas at the cutting edge of developments in the fields of Artificial Intelligence, Epistemology, Psychology and Education in relation to the interaction between the teacher, the learner, the curriculum and the technology. The origins of PEG was the link between Logic Programming and Education, but subsequently the field has expanded to encompass all elements of intelligent computer and communications technology that involve teachers and students of all ages.

ORGANISING COMMITTEE OF PEG 2001

Chair Seppo Pohjolainen, Heli Ruokamo, Pentti Hietala, Ossi Nykänen, Rosa Maria Bottino, Paul Brna, Tom Conlon, Darina Dicheva, Benedict du Boulay, and John Nichol.

PROGRAMME COMMITTEE

Rosa Maria Bottino Instituto per la Matematica Applicata, Genova Italy
bottino@ima.ge.cnr.it
Benedict du Boulay University of Sussex, UK
bend@cogs.susx.ac.uk
Paul Brna Leeds University, UK
P.Brna@cbl.leeds.ac.uk
Peter Brusilovsky University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, USA
peterb@mail.sis.pitt.edu
Derek Brough Imperial College, London, UK
drb@doc.ic.ac.uk
Tom Conlon University of Edinburgh, Scotland
tomc@mhie.ac.uk
Niki Davis University of Exeter, UK
nedavis@iastate.edu
Darina Dicheva Winston-Salem State University, USA
dichevad@wssumits.wssu.edu
Paola Forcheri Consiglio Nazionale Delle Richerche, Genova, Italy
forcheri@ima.ge.cnr.it
Pentti Hietala University of Tampere, Finland
ph@uta.fi
Erno Lehtinen University of Turku, Finland
erno.lehtinen@utu.fi
Rose Luckin University of Sussex, UK
rosel@cogs.susx.ac.uk
Maria Teresa Molfino Instituto per la Matematica Applicata, Genova, Italy
molfino@ima.ge.cnr.it
John Nichol School of Education University of Exeter, UK
J.D.Nichol@exeter.ac.uk
Peeter Normak Tallinn Pedagogical University, Estonia
pnormak@tpu.ee
Ossi Nykänen Tampere University of Technology, Finland
ossi.nykanen@tut.fi
Seppo Pohjolainen Tampere University of Technology, Finland
seppo.pohjolainen@tut.fi
Heli Ruokamo University of Lapland, Finland
heli.ruokamo@urova.fi
Zahava Scherz Weizman Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
zahava.scherz@weizmann.ac.il
Kate Watson School of Education, University of Exeter, UK
Kate.E.Watson@exeter.ac.uk
Denise Whitelock The Open University, UK
d.m.whitelock@open.ac.uk

ORGANISER

Tampere University of Technology
Digital Media Institute
Hypermedia Laboratory
P.O. Box 692
FIN-33101 TAMPERE, Finland
Tel +358 3 365 2424 (Prof. S. Pohjolainen)
Fax +358 3 365 3549